What are the exciting science opportunities of the 2020s?
What challenges do we need to meet to accomplish the science?
How can NOAO help make it happen?

NOAO welcomes your input on the exciting scientific opportunities of the coming decade in areas in which NOAO can play a role in providing critical resources and/or areas that offer opportunities to strengthen the US ground-based OIR system.

Join us at a community workshop 20-21 February 2018 in Tucson to discuss community needs and to work toward an integrated development program that NOAO will present to the Decadal Survey committee. Input received online through the NOAO Decadal Planning website will inform the workshop discussion.

Scope: We welcome a broad range of science ideas that motivate the need for resources such as:

  • Large science programs that use existing facilities at KPNO, CTIO, Gemini Observatory, and LSST
  • Community access to observing time on non-NOAO facilities
  • Community access to archival datasets not currently in the public domain
  • Resources for the exploration and analysis of large datasets and the time domain
  • New investigations and instrumentation at the mid-scale level ($2M-$100M)
  • New observing facilities
  • Other

The scientific opportunities may build on the science and resources described in the recent studies “Optimizing the US Ground-based OIR Astronomy System” (the Elmegreen report) and the report from the Kavli Futures Symposium “Maximizing Science in the Era of LSST: A Community-based Study of Needed OIR Capabilities”, but they are by no means restricted to these. Concepts may include NOAO as a major or minor partner with universities and/or other federal agencies. An updated “Dear Colleague” letter provides additional details on the planning process.

Format: The workshop will feature plenary talks on major science themes and break out discussions centered on resource themes (facilities, software, archives) aimed at identifying important science and technical directions for the coming decade.

Registration is now open. There is no registration fee for the meeting.

About the Venue

The workshop will be held at the Tucson University Park Hotel (formerly Marriott University Park). Make reservations by following this link to receive the workshop rates.

More about the hotel:

Tucson University Park Hotel logoExperience the best Tucson, Arizona has to offer at the Tucson University Park Hotel. Our hotel is adjacent to the beautiful campus of the University of Arizona in the heart of Tucson, which makes us an ideal choice for visitors touring the University or attending athletic events.

Our hotel’s spacious, tastefully appointed guest rooms offer top-quality amenities and comfort whether you are traveling to Tucson, Arizona for leisure or business. Deluxe hotel amenities include a full fitness center, an outdoor pool, and a selection of exceptional restaurants and bars.


Information coming soon.

Local information

Register for the Workshop

  1. Provide your contact information

  2. Resources and capabilities of interest (check all that apply):

Workshop Agenda

The workshop agenda will be developed based on feedback gathered by the NOAO Decadal Planning website. Input received by 20 November 2017 will be given full consideration.

Workshop Participants (4)

The following people have registered to attend Decadal Survey Workshop: NOAO Community Needs for Science in the 2020s on February 20-21, 2018 in Tucson, Arizona.

  • Jeffrey Newman (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Stephen Ridgway (NOAO)
  • Theo ten Brummelaar (CHARA - Georgia State University)
  • Gerard van Belle (Lowell Observatory)