GSMT Assembly

AURA New Initiatives Office

Segment Fabrication Workshop I

Tucson, Arizona
May 30-31, 2002


Introduction

The AURA New Initiatives Office hosted a Workshop on Cost-Effective Fabrication of Mirror Segments, on May 30-31, 2002, in Tucson, Arizona.  The workshop brought together groups working on designs for Extremely Large Telescopes and potential mirror segment suppliers.  The main goals of the meeting were:

Workshop Attendees

If you wish to contact one of the attendees, their email address is listed.  To send an email, replace the "at" with "@" in your mail program.

Torben Andersen Lund Observatory torben.andersen at astro.lu.se
David Anderson Rayleigh Optical Corporation
info at rayleighoptical.com
Vilma Anderson
Rayleigh Optical Corporation
info at rayleighoptical.com
Arne Ardeberg Lund Observatory arne at astro.lu.se
Eli Atad UK Astronomy & Technology Centre  ea at roe.ac.uk
J.B. Barentine Brashear LP jbarentine at brashearlp.com
Ray Carlberg University of Toronto carlberg at astro.utoronto.ca
Myung Cho AURA New Initiatives Office - mcho at noao.edu
Dennis Crabtree NRC/HIA Dennis.Crabtree at nrc.ca
Larry Daggert NOAO Daggert at noao.edu
Tom Farrell Goodrich thomas.farrell at goodrich.com
Eric Hansen AURA New Initiatives Office - ehansen at gemini.edu
Tim Hawarden UK Astronomy & Technology Centre tgh at roe.ac,uk
Matt Johns Carnegie Observatories johns at ociw.edu
Ed Kibblewhite University of Chicago edk at oddjob.uchicago.edu
Buddy Martin Steward Observatory bmartin at as.arizona.edu
Stephen Martinek      4D Technology steve.martinek at 4dtechnology.com
Gary Matthews Eastman Kodak Company gary.matthews at kodak.com
Jerry Nelson University of California, Santa Cruz jnelson at ucolick.org
John Pazder NRC/HIA John.Pazder at nrc.ca
Scott Roberts NRC/HIA scott.roberts at nrc.ca
Larry Stepp AURA New Initiatives Office lstepp at gemini.edu
Mel Ulmer Northwestern University m-ulmer2 at northwestern.edu
David Walker Univ. College London, Zeeko Ltd ddw at star.ucl.ac.uk

Agenda

May 30

Introduction  -  Eric Hansen
CELT update  -  Jerry Nelson
Carnegie Institute update  -  Matt Johns
XLT update  -  Scott Roberts
EUR050 update  -  Torben Anderson, Arne Ardeberg
Steward Observatory 20/20 update  -  Buddy Martin
NIO update  -  Larry Stepp
Kodak presentation  -  Gery Matthews
BrashearLP discussion  -  John Barentine
Rayleigh Optical presentation  -  David, Vilma Anderson
Goodrich discussion  -  Tom Farrell

May 31

Introduction  -  Eric Hansen
Replication Technology for Large Segmented Telescopes  -  Mel Ulmer
University of Chicago  -  Ed Kibblewhite
University of Arizona, Metrology for Segmented Optics-  Jim Burge
University of Arizona, Measurement of Aspherical Segments - Feenix Pan
UCL  -  David Walker
ELT Update  -  Eli Atad
OWL Concept Study   -  Tim Hawarden


Holly Novack  hnovack@gemini.edu  July 18, 2002