back
image image

Introduction to the Solar System

Astronomy 101

Fall 2013

image image

Info:

  • Time & Place: Mondays and Wednesdays, 4:00-6:30, room 23, TOCC new campus
  • Instructors: Dr. Colette Salyk and Dr. Katy Garmany
  • Email: csalyk at noao.edu, garmany at noao.edu
  • Class text: Lecture Tutorials for Introductory Astronomy, 3rd edition
  • Additional reference textbooks are located in the library, in the reserve section
  • Other class materials: Ipads are required. These can be checked out of the library
  • Midterm and Final: will be held on Wed Oct 16 and Monday Dec 9
  • Dates for Kitt Peak field trips: Monday October 14 and Wednesday November 13. Program runs from 4:40-9 PM.
  • Grades will be based on the following: Attendance: 15%, Class Participation: 20%, Homework: 20%, Midterm: 20%, Final: 25%
  • Final Project:

  • List of final projects , due Mon Nov 18
  • Documents:

  • Syllabus
  • Classroom powerpoint presentations:

  • Welcome to AST101 ppt or pdf
  • Introduction to the Universe ppt or pdf
  • The life cycle of stars ppt or pdf
  • Celestial motions ppt or pdf
  • Planetary motions ppt or pdf
  • Seasons ppt or pdf
  • Kepler's laws ppt or pdf
  • Kepler's and Newton's laws ppt or pdf
  • Intro to Solar System ppt or pdf
  • Mercury ppt or pdf
  • Intro to Kitt Peak ppt or pdf
  • Earth - Plate Tectonics ppt or pdf
  • Mars ppt or pdf
  • Venus ppt or pdf
  • Earth's Moon ppt or pdf
  • Climate Change ppt or pdf
  • The Scientific process ppt or pdf
  • Gas Giants ppt or pdf
  • Asteroids and Comets ppt or pdf
  • Preparation for Kitt Peak ppt or pdf
  • Extrasolar planets ppt or pdf
  • Solar System Formation ppt or pdf
  • Astrobiology ppt or pdf
  • Classroom Lecture Tutorials and Activities:

  • What is your cosmic address?
  • The colors of astronomical images
  • The life cycle of stars
  • The solar system in your pocket
  • Geometric Optics
  • Bending of light
  • Moon formation
  • Google Mars
  • The gas giants
  • Extrasolar planet detection: Transits
  • The formation of planets
  • The Drake Equation
  • Homework Assignments:

  • Homework 1 , due Wednesday Sep 4
  • Homework 2 , due Monday Sep 9
  • Homework 3 , due Monday Sep 16
  • Homework 4 and accompanying reading , due Monday Sep 16
  • Homework 5 , due Wednesday Sep 18
  • Homework 6 , due Monday Sep 23
  • Homework 7 , due Wednesday Sep 25
  • Homework 8 and accompanying reading , due Monday Oct 7
  • If interested, there will be a Q&A with "Pluto-killer" Mike Brown, Wed Oct 2 at 1 PM, here . You can also submit your own questions ahead of time.
  • Homework 9 , due Monday Oct 7
  • Homework 10 , due Monday Oct 14
  • Homework 11 and accompanying reading , due Wednesday Oct 23
  • Homework 12 and accompanying reading , due Monday Oct 28
  • Homework 13 and accompanying reading , due Wednesday Oct 30
  • Homework 14 and accompanying reading , due Monday Nov 1
  • Homework 15 , due Wed Nov 6
  • Homework 16 , due Mon Nov 18
  • Recommended Reference Web Pages:

  • The National Optical Astronomy Observatory
  • NASA Planetary Webpages
  • The Nine Planets
  • Astronomy Picture of the Day
  • Ask an Astronomer, Cornell astronomy page
  • Astronomy Cafe
  • Recommended Sites for current events in Astronomy:

  • Astronomy Magazine
  • Space.com
  • Jet Propulsion Laboratory News