NOAO> Meetings> WFMOS

Small NOAO Logo

Tucson Workshop on Next Generation Wide Field MultiObject Spectroscopy

Tucson, AZ
11 & 12 October 2001


Submission Instructions for Workshop Proceedings

Post-Meeting Discussion Forum

Discovery space in astronomy is strongly limited not only by flux and resolution, but also by sample size. In particular, many fields in astronomy would greatly benefit from the ability to spectroscopically study large samples efficiently. For example, large scale spectroscopic surveys have recently begun placing unique constraints on cosmology, large scale structure, galaxy evolution and Galactic structure. If the capability for highly multiplexed spectroscopy were available, we would be able to not only answer existing questions more robustly (perhaps unambiguously), but also open up new avenues of investigation. Moreover, these programs could be accelerated from timescales of decades or years to months.

Given the interest expressed in a highly multiplexed spectroscopic capability at the recent Scottsdale system workshop and the possibility of university-scale investments in this area, we are holding a community wide workshop to investigate the scientific need for such a capability and its technical challenges. The goals of the workshop will be to determine what scale of facility is demanded by the science (i.e., what field of view, what multiplexing capability, and on what aperture), and to identify a path by which to realize such a capability.

The workshop attendance is limited by the size of the available conference room. The participant list is almost full, but a few spaces remain. If you are interested in participating in the workshop, please write to Arjun Dey (dey@noao.edu) as soon as possible.

Sponsoring Organizations:
NOAO
University of Virginia
The Johns Hopkins University
Australian National University


Conference Organizing Committee:

Name Institution Email Address
Tim de Zeeuw (Leiden) tim@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Rosie Wyse (JHU) wyse@tardis.pha.jhu.edu
Michael Strauss (Princeton) strauss@astro.Princeton.EDU
Robert Rood (Virginia) rtr@virginia.edu
David Koo (UCSC) koo@ucolick.org
Ken Freeman (ANU) kcf@mso.anu.edu.au
Richard Ellis (Caltech) rse@astro.caltech.edu
Ray Carlberg (Toronto) carlberg@astro.utoronto.ca

Local Members:

Name Institution Email Address
Michael Brown (NOAO) mbrown@noao.edu
Kathy English (NOAO) kenglish@noao.edu
Arjun Dey (NOAO) dey@noao.edu
George Jacoby (WIYN) jacoby@wiyn.org
Jim Liebert (UofArizona) liebert@as.arizona.edu
Jeremy Mould (NOAO) jrm@noao.edu
Joan Najita (NOAO) najita@noao.edu

Invited Speakers:

Science Drivers:

Brian Boyle (confirmed)
Richard Ellis (confirmed)
Heather Morrison (confirmed)
Neill Reid (confirmed)
Michael Strauss (confirmed)
Alex Szalay (confirmed)
Rosie Wyse (confirmed)

Techniques and Technology:

Roger Angel (confirmed)
Sam Barden (confirmed)
Alan Dressler (confirmed)
Marc Davis (confirmed)
Karl Glazebrook (confirmed)
Olivier LeFevre (confirmed)
Jim Oschmann (confirmed)
Craig Smith (confirmed)
Keith Taylor (confirmed)
Alan Uomoto (confirmed)

Meeting venue:

The workshop will be held on Oct 11 and 12 at the

        Four Points by Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
        1900 E. Speedway Blvd.
        Tucson, AZ 85719
        Telephone: 520.327.7341
        Fax: 520.327.0276
        Toll-Free Reservations Number: 1.800.843.8052
        www.fourpoints.com

Driving Directions

See map.

Directions from Hotel to NOAO:
        (Walking distance ~5 minutes)

  1. Walk across to the Southwest corner of Campbell.
  2. Head south. Turn right at First Street (corner of Burger King).
  3. Head west then turn left on Warren.
  4. Turn right on Second.
  5. Turn left on Cherry.

Transportation Information:         http://www.noao.edu/gateway/tucson/airlines.html

Program:

The workshop structure is aimed at engendering a lively discussion on the major science drivers and the technical feasibility, and hence a significant fraction of the time in each session will be devoted to discussion. The first day of the workshop will focus on the science drivers and the second will focus on the technology and techniques for highly multiplexed MOS spectroscopy, as well as a discussion of the lessons learned from ongoing instrument and spectroscopic survey projects.

In each session on the science drivers (Day 1) there will be one or more invited talks which should briefly review the status of the field and then focus on which aspects of the science would be revolutionized by highly-multiplexed multiobject spectroscopy. Following the invited talk, there will be a structured discussion during which workshop participants are invited to present a short (1 or 2 viewgraph) comment pertinent to the discussion on the scientific drivers. Each session on technology (Day 2) will be structured with invited talks and discussion focussed on how to best serve the science drivers emerging from the science sessions.

In the spirit of having a lively discussion, we encourage workshop participants to come prepared with one or two viewgraphs to contribute to the discussion. If you wish to present something of relevance to the discussion in one of the sessions, please contact Arjun Dey (dey@noao.edu) with a brief (2-3 line) summary of what you would like to present.

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2001:

7pm : informal get together --- cocktails & hors d'oeuvres

Thursday, 11 October 2001: Science Drivers for the Next Generation WFMOS:

7:30am - 8:30am Breakfast

8:30am - 8:40am Welcome and Intro - Arjun Dey

Session I: Galaxies and AGN Evolution
David Koo (chair)

08:40am - 09:05am Richard Ellis (15min talk + discussion)
09:05am - 09:30am Brian Boyle (15min talk + discussion)
09:30am - 10:30am Discussion and contributions

10:30am - 10:45am Coffee

Session II: Large Scale Structure
Ray Carlberg (chair)

10:45am - 11:10am Daniel Eisenstein (15min talk + discussion)
11:10am - 11:35am Andy Connolly (15min talk + discussion)
11:35am - 12:30pm Discussion and Contributions

12:30pm - 01:30pm Lunch

Session III: Stellar Populations
Rosie Wyse (chair)

01:30pm - 01:55pm Rosie Wyse (15min talk + discussion)
01:55pm - 02:20pm Heather Morrison (15min talk + discussion)
02:20pm - 03:15pm Discussion and contributions

03:15pm - 03:30pm Coffee

Session IV: Rare Populations
Mike Skrutskie (chair)

03:30pm - 03:45pm Jim Liebert (10min talk + discussion)
03:45pm - 04:00pm Xiaohui Fan (10min talk + discussion)
04:00pm - 04:15pm David Helfand (10min talk + discussion)
04:15pm - 04:30pm John Huchra (10min talk + discussion [not confirmed])
04:30pm - 05:30pm Discussion of Scientific Need for a New WFMOS Capability (Richard Ellis, chair)
05:30pm - 05:45pm Recap

07:00pm - DINNER

Friday, Oct 12, 2001: Technological Challenges for the Next Generation WFMOS

09:00am - 09:30am Jeremy Mould

Session V: Telescopes: New and Improved
Jeremy Mould (chair)

09:30am - 10:00am Gemini as a Wide-Field Telescope -- Eric Hansen (20 min + discussion)
10:00am - 10:30am New concepts -- Roger Angel and Jim Burge (20min + discussion)
10:30am - 10:45am Coffee
10:45am - 11:15am New concepts -- Craig Smith (20min + discussion)

Session VI: Multiplexing Techniques and Technologies
Sam Barden (chair)

11:15am - 12:00pm Techniques for multiplexing -- Karl Glazebrook (20min + discussion)

12:00pm - 01:00pm Lunch

Session VI (continued)

01:00pm - 01:30pm New Spectroscopic Technologies - Sam Barden (20min + discussion)
01:30pm - 02:00pm MOS Concepts for large telescopes - Keith Taylor (20min + discussion)
02:00pm - 02:30pm Discussion and Contributions

Session VII: Lessons from Ongoing Projects
Mike Skrutskie (chair)

02:30pm - 02:50pm Lessons from Sloan - David Schlegel (15min + discussion)
02:50pm - 03:10pm Lessons from DEEP - Marc Davis (15min + discussion)
03:10pm - 03:30pm Lessons from IMACS - Alan Dressler (15min + discussion)

03:30pm - 03:45pm Coffee

03:45pm - 03:55pm Lessons from VIMOS - Olivier Le Fevre (15min + discussion)
03:55pm - 04:05pm Lessons from 2dF - Karl Glazebrook (5min + discussion)
04:05pm - 05:00pm Discussion and wrap-up (George Jacoby, chair)



Meeting Participants

Masayuki Akiyama akiyama@subaru.naoj.org
Roger Angel angel@as.arizona.edu
Taft Armandroff armand@noao.edu
Sam Barden sbarden@noao.edu
Jill Bechtold jbechtold@as.arizona.edu
Joss Bland-Hawthorn jbh@aaoepp.aao.gov.au
Brian Boyle director@aaoepp.aao.gov.au
Jean Brodie brodie@ucolick.org
Warren Brown wbrown@oir.harvard.edu
Yong-Ik Byun byun@darksky.yonsei.ac.kr
Ray Carlberg carlberg@astro.utoronto.ca
Mun-Suk Chun mschun@galaxy.yonsei.ac.kr
Chuck Claver cclaver@noao.edu
Andy Connolly ajc@phyast.pitt.edu
Marc Davis marc@coma.berkeley.edu
Arjun Dey dey@noao.edu
Alan Dressler dressler@ociw.edu
Daniel Eisenstein deisenstein@as.arizona.edu
Richard Ellis rse@astro.caltech.edu
Richard Elston elston@astro.ufl.edu
Dan Fabricant dgf@cfa.harvard.edu
Emili Falco falco@carpincho.sao.arizona.edu
Xiaohui Fan fan@astro.princeton.edu
Karl Glazebrook kgb@pha.jhu.edu
Richard Green green@noao.edu
Eric Hansen ehansen@noao.edu
Charles Harmer charmer@noao.edu
David Helfand djh@astro.columbia.edu
Gary Hill hill@astro.as.utexas.edu
John Huchra huchra@cfa.harvard.edu
Buell Jannuzi jannuzi@noao.edu
David Koo koo@ucolick.org
Rolf Kudritzki kud@ifa.hawaii.edu
Jim Liebert liebert@as.arizona.edu
K. Y. Lo kyl@asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
Pat McCarthy pmc2@ociw.edu
J. Ward Moody jmoody@byu.edu
Anna Moore amm@aaoepp.aao.gov.au
Heather Morrison heather@vegemite.astr.cwru.edu
Jeremy Mould jrm@noao.edu
Lexi Moustakas leonidas@astro.ox.ac.uk
Chun Munsuk mschun@mso.anu.edu.au
Joan Najita najita@noao.edu
Colin Norman norman@stsci.edu
Bob O'Connell rwo@virginia.edu
Bev Oke oke@dao.nrc.ca,bev.oke@nrc.ca
Marc Postman postman@stsci.edu
Larry Ramsey lwr@astro.psu.edu
Mike Rich rmr@ciel.astro.ucla.edu
Bob Rood rtr@virginia.edu
David Schlegel schlegel@astro.princeton.edu
Steve Shectman shec@ociw.edu
Ray Sharples R.M.Sharples@durham.ac.uk
Luc Simard simard@nenuphar.as.arizona.edu
Mike Skrutskie skrutskie@Virginia.edu
Craig Smith csmith@eostech.com
Rachel Somerville rachel@ast.cam.ac.uk
Chuck Steidel ccs@astro.caltech.edu
Andrew Szentgyorgyi saint@cfa.harvard.edu
Keith Taylor kt@astro.caltech.edu
Daig Tomono tomono@mpe.mpg.de
Zlatka Tsvetanov zlatan@pha.jhu.edu
Frank Valdes valdes@noao.edu
Sidney Wolff swolff@noao.edu
Ron Wurtz wurtz@lea15.llnl.gov
Rosie Wyse wyse@pha.jhu.edu


Related Links:

Ongoing Wide-Field Surveys:

SDSS |  2MASS |  NDWFS |  NOAO Surveys

Present and Future MOS Instrumentation:

DEIMOS |  IMACS |  VIMOS |  FMOS |  HECTOSPEC |  SWIFT |  NGOS | MODS


AURA, Inc. logo

Background image is a section of the NDWFS (Jannuzi & Dey 2000).

NSF logo

NOAO is operated by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA), Inc. under cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation.

AURA, Inc. logo

NOAO> Meetings> WFMOS

webmaster@noao.edu

Small NOAO Logo