NOAO  >  Meetings >  Mitigation Workshop

Workshop on Scientific Requirements for Mitigation of Hazardous Comets and Asteroids

(Workshop Sponsored by NASA; co-sponsored by Ball Aerospace and Science Applications International Corporation)


Dates: September 3 through 6, 2002
Venue: Hyatt in Arlington, Virginia



Scientific Organizing Committee

Michael A'Hearn (Chair, LOC)
University of Maryland
(301) 405-6076
ma@astro.umd.edu

Erik Asphaug (Scientific Program Chair)
University of California at Santa Cruz
(831) 459-2260
asphaug@es.ucsc.edu

Harry Atkinson
Former Chair, UK NEO Task Force
+44 (0) 1993 850 120
harry_atkinson@compuserve.com

Michael Belton (Chair, Organizing committee; Proceedings Editor)
Emeritus Astronomer, National Optical Astronomy Observatory
President, Belton Space Exploration Initiatives, LLC
(520) 795-6220
belton@azstarnet.com

Alberto Cellino
INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Torino
cellino@to.astro.it

Clark Chapman
Southwest Research Institute, Boulder
(303) 546-9670
cchapman@swri.edu

Keith Holsapple
University of Washington
Holsapple@aa.washington.edu

Walter Huebner (Participant Chair)
Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio
(210) 522-2730
whuebner@swri.edu

Wlodek Kofman
University of Grenoble
[33] 476 51 41 46
wlodek.kofman@obs.ujf-grenoble.fr

Tim McCoy (LOC)
National Museum of Natural History
McCoy.Tim@nmnh.si.edu

Lucy McFadden (LOC)
University of Maryland
(301) 405-2081
mcfadden@astro.umd.edu

Jay Melosh
University of Arizona
(520) 621-2806
jmelosh@lpl.arizona.edu

Tom Morgan (LOC, Proceedings Co-editor)
NASA Headquarters
(202) 358-0828
tmorgan@hq.nasa.gov

Nalin Samarasinha
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
(520) 318-8562
nalin@noao.edu

Dan Scheeres
University of Michigan
(734) 615-3282
scheeres@umich.edu

Derek Sears
University of Arkansas
dsears@uark.edu

Vadim Simonenko
RFNC - Institute of Technical Physics, RF
sva@sva.ch70.chel.su

Jessica Sunshine (LOC)
Science Applications International
(703) 814-7759
sunshinej@saic.com

Simon P. Worden
USAF
(703) 614-0661
Pete.Worden@osd.pentagon.mil

Hajime Yano
Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS)
+81 42 759 8197
yano@planeta.sci.isas.ac.jp

Donald Yeomans (Proceedings Co-Editor)
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Donald.K.Yeomans@jpl.nasa.gov

NSF logo

NOAO is the national center for ground-based nighttime astronomy in the United States and is operated by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA), Inc. under cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation. Last updated 23 May, 2002.

AURA, Inc. logo

NOAO >  Meetings >  Mitigation Workshop

webmaster@noao.edu