NOAO  >  NGSC >  NOAO Support

NOAO Gemini Science Center

NOAO Support for Gemini Users

For assistance with questions about the Gemini Observatory capabilities, please contact the NOAO Instrument Scientist listed below.

Current Gemini Instruments

Instrument

Instrument Scientist

Email

Phone

Altair

Knut Olsen
Susan Ridgway

kolsen@noao.edu
seridgway@ctio.noao.edu

(520) 318-8555
56-51-205-297

GMOS

Tom Matheson
Knut Olsen
Susan Ridgway
Dara Norman

tmatheson@noao.edu
kolsen@noao.edu
seridgway@ctio.noao.edu
dnorman@noao.edu

(520) 318-8517
(520) 318-8555
56-51-205-297
(520) 318-8361

GNIRS

Ken Hinkle
Dick Joyce
Jay Elias

khinkle@noao.edu
rjoyce@noao.edu
jelias@noao.edu

(520) 318-8298
(520) 318-8323
(520) 318-8231

Michelle

Ken Hinkle

khinkle@noao.edu

(520) 318-8298

NICI

Ron Probst

rprobst@noao.edu

(520) 318-8268

NIFS

Knut Olsen

kolsen@noao.edu

(520) 318-8555

NIRI

Susan Ridgway
Knut Olsen

seridgway@ctio.noao.edu
kolsen@noao.edu

56-51-205-297
(520) 318-8555

Phoenix

Katia Cunha
Ken Hinkle

kcunha@noao.edu
khinkle@noao.edu

(520) 318-8206
(520) 318-8298

TReCS

Jayadev Rajagopal
Ken Hinkle

jrajagopal@ctio.noao.edu
khinkle@noao.edu

56-51-205-294
(520) 318-8298

Other

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453


Retired Gemini Instruments

Instrument

Instrument Scientist

Email

Phone

Hokupa'a/QUIRC

Verne Smith
Steve Ridgway

vsmith@noao.edu
sridgway@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453
(520) 318-8297

OSCIR

Verne Smith

smith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

FLAMINGOS I

Jay Elias

jelias@noao.edu

(520) 318-8231

bHROS

Katia Cunha

kcunha@noao.edu

(520) 318-8206

CIRPASS

Jay Elias

jelias@noao.edu

(520) 318-8231

NIRSPEC

Ken Hinkle
Katia Cunha

khinkle@noao.edu
kcunha@noao.edu

(520) 318-8298
(520) 318-8206


Observing

Task

Instrument Scientist

Email

Phone

Proposals

David Bell

dbell@noao.edu

(520) 318-8381

Observing Tool/Phase II

Tom Matheson

tmatheson@noao.edu

(520) 318-8517

Gemini North visitor

Sally Adams

sadams@noao.edu

(520) 318-8421

Gemini South visitor

Sally Adams

sadams@noao.edu

(520) 318-8421

Astrometry

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

Observing modes

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

NOAO IRAF

Mike Fitzpatrick

fitz@noao.edu

(520) 318-8387

Data format/distribution

Tom Matheson

tmatheson@noao.edu

(520) 318-8517

Pipeline processing

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

Gemini Science Archive

Tom Matheson

tmatheson@noao.edu

(520) 318-8517

Computers

Sally Adams

sadams@noao.edu

(520) 318-8421

Web sites

Sally Adams

sadams@noao.edu

(520) 318-8421

PR/Outreach

Kathie Coil

kcoil@noao.edu

(520) 318-8230

Partner Country Support

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

Gemini Committees

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

HelpDesk

Sally Adams

sadams@noao.edu

(520) 318-8421

Other

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453


Telescopes

Task

Instrument Scientist

Email

Phone

Acquisition

David Bell

dbell@noao.edu

(520) 318-8399

Calibration

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

Adaptive Optics

Knut Olsen

kolsen@noao.edu

(520) 318-8555

Polarimetry

Dick Joyce

rjoyce@noao.edu

(520) 318-8323

Other capabilities

Verne Smith

vsmith@noao.edu

(520) 318-8453

WFS/guide stars

David Bell

dbell@noao.edu

(520) 318-8399


If you are not sure to whom to direct a query, send email to ngsc@noao.edu, and we will direct your question to the NOAO staff member most capable of answering it.

Or, check out the Gemini Observatory's new Helpdesk. Queries will be automatically directed to the appropriate person at NOAO (or in the National Project Office in your country of origin, for users in Gemini Partner countries), and you will receive notification by email when your query has been answered. If NOAO staff are unable to answer your question, it will be forwarded to higher-level experts, in some cases in other Partner countries, or on to staff at the Gemini Observatory itself.

Comments and/or suggestions, may be directed to ngsc@noao.edu



NSF logo

NOAO is operated by the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA), Inc. under cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation. The NGSC represents U.S. scientific, technical, and instrumentation interests in the international community of the Gemini project. The NGSC is a division of the National Optical Astronomy Observatories (NOAO).

AURA, Inc. logo

NOAO >  NGSC >  NOAO Support

ngsc@noao.edu