HR: 1340h
AN: ED23A-1242    [Abstracts]
TI: School of Rock: An Ocean-going, Hands-on Research Expedition for Earth and Ocean Science Teachers
AU: * Peart, L
EM: lpeart@joiscience.org
AF: Joint Oceanographic Institutions, 1201 New York Avenue Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005 United States
AU: Niemitz, M
EM: mniemitz@joiscience.org
AF: Joint Oceanographic Institutions, 1201 New York Avenue Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005 United States
AU: Klaus, A
EM: annklaus@iodp.tamu.edu
AF: Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, Texas A and M University 1000 Discovery Drive, College Station, TX 77845 United States
AU: Leckie, M
EM: mleckie@geo.umass.edu
AF: University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Department of Geosciences 611 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01003 United States
AU: Houpt, D
EM: houpt@iodp.tamu.edu
AF: Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, Texas A and M University 1000 Discovery Drive, College Station, TX 77845 United States
AU: Hamlin, B
EM: hamlin@iodp.tamu.edu
AF: Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, Texas A and M University 1000 Discovery Drive, College Station, TX 77845 United States
AU: Crowder, L
EM: crowder@iodp.tamu.edu
AF: Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, Texas A and M University 1000 Discovery Drive, College Station, TX 77845 United States
AU: Firth, J
EM: firth@iodp.tamu.edu
AF: Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, Texas A and M University 1000 Discovery Drive, College Station, TX 77845 United States
AU: Weiss, P
EM: weiss@iodp.tamu.edu
AF: Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, Texas A and M University 1000 Discovery Drive, College Station, TX 77845 United States
AU: Peng, C
EM: peng@iodp.tamu.edu
AF: Integrated Ocean Drilling Program, Texas A and M University 1000 Discovery Drive, College Station, TX 77845 United States
AU: Slough, S
EM: sslough@coe.tamu.edu
AF: Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture, Texas A and M University , College Station, TX 77843 United States
AB: The Integrated Ocean Drilling Program (IODP) - United States Implementing Organization (USIO) took advantage of a 16-day break between scientific operations to carry out a seagoing pilot educator workshop on board the JOIDES Resolution during a transit from Victoria, B.C., Canada, to Acapulco, Mexico. During this workshop, 10 educators from all across the United States were mentored and taught by scientists who are actively engaged in IODP research, the USIO Education Director, and staff. In addition, shipboard technical staff provided guidance and content related to hands-on laboratory activities. The pilot program provided the educators with an opportunity to participate in a seagoing experience on a scientific drilling research vessel and conduct a series of research activities similar to those that take place during regular scientific drilling expeditions. The workshop allowed educators to increase their knowledge of IODP and scientific methods as borne out through ocean drilling (proposals, drilling, lab analysis, data acquisition, postcruise activities) as well as knowledge of mid-ocean ridges, composition and structure of the oceanic crust, seafloor spreading, paleoceanography, paleomagnetism, and sedimentology. The workshop participants translated the scientific results into useful teaching resources by developing a suite of new discovery-based activities related to ocean drilling research that will undergo classroom testing by workshop participants. Over the school year the educators will help disseminate IODP science education by conducting at least two teacher workshops based on this seagoing experience, enhanced scientific knowledge gained from participating in the workshop, and the new activities developed en route.
DE: 0805 Elementary and secondary education
DE: 0810 Post-secondary education
DE: 0815 Informal education
DE: 0820 Curriculum and laboratory design
DE: 0830 Teacher training
SC: Education and Human Resources [ED]
MN: Fall Meeting 2005